Craft ACT

Craft ACT: Craft and Design Centre

(detail)

You're here: Home > Reviews and essays

Subscribe to E-News  

Reviews and essays

See also: Opening speeches

An index of all our published reviews and essays.

Title: Mamana Mamanta (Gradual Friendship)     by Barbara McConchie     28 November 2008    
Category: Touring exhibition
Subject: Glasswork by Luna Ryan and Jock Puautjimi     Read Mamana Mamanta (Gradual Friendship)

Mamana Mamanta - gradual friendship - is a fitting title for this exhibition featuring new work by Jock Puautjimi, Tiwi artist of the Wantarringa (sun) skin group from Bathurst Island and Luna Ryan an established Canberra glass artist, as it succinctly describes the slow development and growth of their friendship.

Title: Liz Williamson: Textiles     by Gary Sangster     30 November 2010    
Category: Gallery exhibition
Subject: 2010 Object gallery touring exhibition celebrating Liz Williamson as part of the Living Treasures: Masters of Australian Craft series     Read Liz Williamson: Textiles

Liz Williamson's work, accomplished and beautiful as it is, operates in a field of inquiry that is far more powerful and intriguing than an exquisite adornment of the body, or the inflections of innovative fabric-making, or the re-conceptualization of art mediated through textiles and design.

Title: Life In Yours Hands     by Robyn Daw     4 April 2013    
Category: Gallery exhibition
Subject: Exhibition     Read Life In Yours Hands

The relationship between a community and its immediate environment is, at best, balanced and robust: communities demonstrate resilience, cope with adversity and, by necessity, must accommodate change. However, when change occurs for the worst, people can become disempowered and separated from the very place perceived as home. Physical and mental health may be affected: the result of an accumulation of adverse conditions. This phenomenon has been identified and named as solastalgia by Professor Glenn Albrecht. Effectively this is a condition of homesickness experienced without leaving home.

Title: Jane Burns toasts Dr Robert Bell AM     by Jane Burns     21 July 2010    
Category: Craft ACT event
Subject: Event for Dr Robert Bell AM     Read Jane Burns toasts Dr Robert Bell AM

Craft ACT: Craft and Design Centre hosted a reception for Dr Robert Bell to celebrate his Award of the AM in the June 2010 announcement of Queen's Birthday Honours for the Order of Australia. Jane Burns toasted to Dr Robert Bell and the significant recognition and honour so deservingly awarded to him by our country for his services to contemporary craft and design in Australia.

Title: Innovation Reclaimed     by Glen Martin     14 April 2011    
Category: Gallery exhibition
Subject: 2011 group exhibition curated by the Centre     Read Innovation Reclaimed

Embracing innovation reminds us of what this word innovation really means. It is a show that details the layered ways we interact with material, the way we reassess and reconfigure. Yet this is also a collection of very beautiful, interesting works.

Title: Inhabit - Living in design     by Richard Wood     18 June 2013    
Category: Gallery exhibition
Subject: Gallery     Read Inhabit - Living in design

Canberra is a design laboratory, always new, always in the present. Craft ACT: Craft and Design Centre continues this tradition by curating an exhibition with objects from our Accredited Professional Members that inhabit our homes and define the spaces we live in.

Title: Imagining the past, creating the future     by Barbara McConchie     30 June 2006    
Category: Project
Subject: Memories in Place: art in high country huts     Read Imagining the past, creating the future

A project incorporating an exhibition at Craft ACT and three discrete temporary installations located in the Brayshaws, Westermans and Waterhole huts within the Namadgi National Park.

Title: Highlights     by Jas Hugonnet     11 February 2009    
Category: Gallery exhibition
Subject: Desk and floor lights by Gilbert Riedelbauch     Read Highlights

Currently showing as part of the 2009 Multicultural Festival, Gilbert Riedelbauch is exhibiting a range of desk and floor lights, exquisite in construction and design. Using a combination of found materials with computer generated components the works exude sophistication while maintaining an organic feel.

Title: Hidden Treasures     by Annika Harding     5 April 2011    
Category: Gallery exhibition
Subject: 2011 exhibition by Michelle Kelly     Read Hidden Treasures

Is there a place for art, craft and design in the consideration of environmental issues? Absolutely. Kellys work asserts that if we look to nature, we can usually find what we seek - whether thats beauty, contemplation, functionality, inspiration; perhaps even the answers to some of the biggest challenges we face.

Title: Harvest     by Diana Hare     11 February 2011    
Category: Gallery exhibition
Subject: 2011 Harvest exhibition series     Read Harvest

In a city that explodes with creative talent, Craft ACT: Craft and Design Centre has selected a new crop of talented graduates for the Harvest series of emerging artist award exhibitions. The award highlights the talents of local emerging artists Marco Chan, Hannah Dalrymple, George Thompson, Kimberley Dixon, Dierdre Pearce, Annabelle Davidson, Elaine Bradley and Edward Collett.

  Previous page       Next page  

 1   2   3  4  5   6   7   8